Secondary Schools Basketball

Term 1

The Toowoomba Basketball Association partners each year with the Toowoomba Secondary Schools Sports Association to run the Toowoomba Secondary School Basketball Championships.

Teachers started this competition in 1987 on Friday nights with the help of Toowoomba Basketball to give the opportunity for more spectators to participate with their teams as modelled on the High School and University competitions in the USA. It has been a resounding success primarily because of the dedication of teachers who have given up their time to coach teams.

Teams compete for the John Gouldson Champion Boys School Trophy and Kathy Gouldson Champion Girls School Trophy. Both of which have played an integral role in this competition and the Toowoomba Basketball Association.

The competition is run at a variety of High School venues across the city on Friday Nights, in term 1.

All High Schools are invited to submit teams. Teams are made up from students in Year 8, Under 15 & Open. It gives students a chance to experience the sport of basketball in a well run competition, before participating in the Toowoomba Basketball Junior Club Championship.

Teams include:

  • Fairholme College
  • St Ursula’s College
  • Centenery Heights State High School
  • Concordia College
  • St Mary’s College
  • Toowoomba State High School
  • Harristown State High School
  • Downlands College
  • Kingaroy State High School
  • Pittsworth State High School
  • Toowoomba Grammar School
  • Christian Outreach College
  • St Josephs College
  • Crows Nest High School
  • Lockyer State High School
  • The Glennie School
  • St Saviours College

The competition culminates with an All-Star Game for the open boys and girls. The All-Star teams are comprised of the judged best 16 players in the competition.

TBA is proud to be associated with this event in the provision of referees and venue supervision. For any queries please email: